Works of Kalidasa (In Two Volumes): Sanskrit Text, English Translation and Detailed Notes

Rs. 2,535.00Rs. 2,600.00
  • Book Name Works of Kalidasa (In Two Volumes): Sanskrit Text, English Translation and Detailed Notes
  • Author C. R. Devadhar
  • Language, Pages English & Sanskrit, 2501 Pgs. (HB)
  • Last Updated 2023 / 08 / 25
  • ISBN VOL. 1: 9788120800236,VOL. 2: 97881208002443

Guaranteed safe checkout

amazon paymentsapple paybitcoingoogle paypaypalvisa
Works of Kalidasa (In Two Volumes): Sanskrit Text, English Translation and Detailed Notes
- +

This volume comprises three famous plays of Kalidasa: Abhijnanasakuntalam, Malavikagnimitram and Vikramorvasiyam. They represent the skill and artistry commanded by the immortal figure of Indian dramatic literature.

Each of the plays opens with an Introduction. This is followed by the text in original. Then the translation of the text appears. Elaborate critical explanatory notes form the last section of each paly.

The volume is intended for students of the university level. General readers of Sanskrit literature will also find it interesting.

Publisher's Note

The best productions of the Indian drama are nearly a dozen in number, and date from a period from about the beginning of the fifth to the end of the eighth century A.D., embracing something like four hundred years. These plays are the compositions of the great dramatists Kalidasa and Bhavabhuti, or have come down under the names of the royal patrons Sudraka and Srikhrsa, to whom their real authors attributed them.

The greatest of all is Kalidasa, already known to us as the author of several of the best Kavyas. Three of his plays have been preserved, Abhijnana Sakuntalam, Vikramorvasiyam and Malavikagnimitram. The richness of creative fancy which hs displays in these, and his skill in the expression of tender feeling, assign him a unique place among the dramatists of the world. The harmony of the poetic sentiment is nowhere disturbed by anything violent or terrifying. Every passion is softened without being enfeebled. The ardour of love never goes beyond aesthetic bounds; it never maddens towild jealousy or hate. The torments of sorrow are toned down to a profound and touching melancholy.

We have collected in this volume, the representatives of the romantic drama of India, Abhijnana Sakuntalam and Vikramorvasiyam, dealing with the love adventures of two famous kings of ancient epic legend. Malavikagnimitra, on the other hand, is a story of contemporary love and fancy.

About the Book (Vol. II)

This volume contains five Kavyas of Kalidasa: Srngaratilaka, Rtusamhara, Meghaduta, Kumarasambhava, and Raghuvamsa.

Srngaratilaka and Rtusamhara display the poetic imagination of his early youth. The Meghaduta is the work of his advanced years. The Kumarasambhava and Raghuvamsa are the works of his mature age. His kavyas are praised for the happy choice of his subjects, and for his illustrations derived from nature and human life. In this volume, the text is followed by an English translation. Each and every kavya is prefixed with an English Introduction or an Editorial Note. The general introduction has been incorporated in the Introduction to the text of Raghuvamsa to which notes are added to discuss the passages where the commentators differ in their interpretation.

Publisher's Note of Vol. II

Kalidasa is known as the best of Indian poets and dramatists. Part I of his works was published by us in 1966. It was reprinted in 1972, 1977, and 1981. That part contains his three plays: Malavikagnimitram, Vikramorvasiyam, and Abhijnanasakuntalam. Therein Sanskrit Text is printed side by side with English translation and followed by notes at the end. A short introduction is prefixed to each play while an alphabetical list of verses and a metrical table are put in an appendix.

The present part (no.2) treats the Kavyas of Kalidasa- Srngaratilakam, Rtusamharam, Meghadutam, Kumarasambhavam, and Raghuvamsam. The general pattern being the same, this part deviates from the previous one in certain respects, for instance, here the order of arrangement is governed by chronology and not by preference. Srngratilaka and Rtusamhara are the productions of the poet's early youth, Meghaduta is a work of his youthful day, and Kumarasambhava and Raghuvamsa are the works of his advanced age. In regard to the serial order of these works, scholars have differed. But we have followed the chronological order as accepted by most scholars. To mention a few more deviations, Sanskrit text in this part is followed by English translation verse by verse and exhaustive notes have been added to Raghuvamsa to discuss, in particular, the passages where the commentators have differed.

The reader should also note that each and every kavya in this part is prefixed either with an introduction or an editorial note. As to the general Introduction, it may be stated that the same has been incorporated in the introduction to the text of Raghubamsa. It has been considered unnecessary to repeat the same in the preliminary pages of this book.

It is possible that the reader may not agree with the translator on the interpretation of certain passages. But he will certainly admire the translator's originality of thought and the elegance of expression in the rendering of controversial text. We find that ancient Sanskrit commentators too have differed in the exposition of certain verses. Then why not our learned translator?

We are extremely grateful to scholars who have offered their suggestions for improving this work. They will be pleased to note that most of their suggestion has been adopted in this text.




  Publisher's Note v
1. Abhijnana Sakuntalam  
  Introduction iii-xxxii
  Text with Translation 1-247
  Notes 249-354
  Metrical Table 355-359
2. Vikramorvasiyam  
  Introduction iii-xxviii
  Text with Translation 1-187
  Notes 189-298
  Addenda et Corrigenda 299-300
3. Malavikagnimitram  
  Introduction iii-xvi
  Text with Translation 1-167
  Notes 169-308
  Appendix A: 309-310
  Appendix B: Metrical Table 311-312
Contents of Vol. II
  Publisher's Note v
1. Srngaratilakam  
  Introductory note  
  Text with Translation 1-11
2. Rtusamharam  
  Introductory note i-viii
  Text with Translation 1-53
3. Meghadutam  
  Introduction i-viii
  Text with Translation 1-43
4. Kumarasambhavam  
  Introduction i-viii
  Text with Translation 1-265
5. Raghuvamsam  
  Introduction i-xxiii
  Text with Translation 1-372
  Notes 373-732

 Sample Pages

Volume I

Volume II

Delivery and Shipping Policy

    • Rs.1000-1100/kg
    • ESTD. Delivery Time: 2-3 weeks (depending on location)
    • Bubble Wrapped with Extra Padding


    • NCR: Rs. 30/half kg
    • Standard: Rs. 80/half kg
    • Express shipments also available on Request
    • ESTD. Delivery Time: Ranging from 1-4 days up to 7 business days (Depending on your choice of Delivery)


    • All orders; national or international, will be provided with a Tracking ID to check the status of their respective orders
    • Depending on the Shipping Service, Tracking ID may be used on their respective tracking portals


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Domestic Shipping: 3-4 Days (after shipping)

International Shipping: 1-2 weeks (based on your location)

You will receive an email once your order has been shipped or you can email us if you didn't receive tracking details (

Every book that we sell is the latest edition except all the rare books

Yes, we do provide free shipping, only on domestic orders (within India) above Rs.1500

Translation missing:

All Rating

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3

  • 2

  • 1

    Collected by EpicApp for Reviews
    • Product Review Image
    product Review Image